Looking online for a fix, I’ve discovered that I wasn’t the only one to have this issue. Here’s what one of the users has shared on the support forums for Dragon’s Prophet:

I tried different stuff to fix the problem but nothing worked. Before I used Windows 8 and everything was fine, except for some random crashes in the last days while loading. I’m redownloading the game atm to reinstall it. But I’m not optimistic that this will help. The download takes several hours for me, so in the mean time: Is anyone having problems with Windows 8.1 too? Or does anyone even know a fix? We have reached out to the Dragon’s Prophet developer but we’re still waiting for a reply. What some other users are saying is that Windows 8.1 is newer than Dragon’s Prophet software, so it means that the game doesn’t yet have official support for Windows 8.1. Let us know if you have similar issues and what are the workarounds that you have tried.

Name * Email * Commenting as . Not you? Save information for future comments
Comment

Δ